Insurance Agent Permit Requirements in Columbus, OH
Complete permit and license guide for starting a insurance agent in Columbus, Franklin County, Ohio.
Not legal advice. Requirements may change — always verify with your local government authority before applying. Key agencies and fees on this page were re-checked against official government sources on .
Federal — start here
2 stopsEIN (Employer Identification Number)
Required if operating as a business entity (LLC, corporation) or if you have employees. Free from the IRS. Sole proprietors without employees may use their SSN but an EIN is recommended for privacy.
Official government sourceFreeImmediate (online application)
Free
Immediate (online application)
NIPR — National Insurance Producer Registry
Most states process insurance producer licenses through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). When applying for or renewing a license, or when applying for non-resident licenses in other states, NIPR streamlines the multi-state process.
Official government sourceVaries by state ($10–$25 NIPR transaction fee)Immediate processing
Varies by state ($10–$25 NIPR transaction fee)
Immediate processing
State of Ohio
4 stopsOhio Department of Insurance — Insurance Producer License
To sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance in Ohio, individuals must hold a valid insurance producer license issued by the Ohio Department of Insurance. Licensing requires: (1) completing pre-licensing education (20 hours per applicable line of authority; several specialty/limited lines require 0 hours, and requirement is waivable with certain degrees/designations), (2) passing the state insurance licensing exam (administered by PSI), and (3) submitting an application with a background check. License must be renewed every 2 years with 24 continuing education hours (3 of which must be ethics).
Official government source~$42 (PSI exam fee) + $10 (license application fee for major lines; higher for specialty lines) + fingerprint/background check fee (~$72)4–8 weeks (education, exam, and application processing)
~$42 (PSI exam fee) + $10 (license application fee for major lines; higher for specialty lines) + fingerprint/background check fee (~$72)
4–8 weeks (education, exam, and application processing)
Ohio — Insurance Agency / Business Entity License
If operating as an agency (LLC, corporation, or partnership) rather than a sole proprietor, the business entity itself must obtain a separate Business Entity insurance license from the Ohio Department of Insurance (ORC 3905.06). The entity must designate a licensed insurance agent responsible for the entity's compliance with Ohio insurance law. Fee is set by administrative rule -- confirm current amount with the Ohio Department of Insurance.
Official government sourceFee set by Ohio Dept of Insurance rule; not specified in ORC 3905.06 -- confirm current amount with the Department2–4 weeks
Fee set by Ohio Dept of Insurance rule; not specified in ORC 3905.06 -- confirm current amount with the Department
2–4 weeks
Ohio — Errors & Omissions (E&O) Insurance
While not mandated by state law in all cases, most Ohio carriers and agency contracts require licensed insurance agents to carry Errors & Omissions (professional liability) insurance. E&O protects against claims arising from mistakes or failures in professional services. Minimum coverage is typically $1 million per occurrence.
Official government source$400–$2,500/year depending on lines sold and revenueObtained before writing business
$400–$2,500/year depending on lines sold and revenue
Obtained before writing business
Ohio — Sales Tax / Business Tax Registration
Register with the Ohio Department of Taxation. Insurance premiums are generally exempt from Ohio sales tax, but tangible products, office supplies, or other taxable items sold may be subject to Ohio sales tax (5.75% state + 2.25% Franklin County/COTA local = 8.00% combined in Columbus). Register to stay compliant.
Official government sourceFree (if not selling taxable goods) to $50 (vendor's license if selling taxable tangible goods)Immediate to 1 week (online)
Free (if not selling taxable goods) to $50 (vendor's license if selling taxable tangible goods)
Immediate to 1 week (online)
City of Columbus / Franklin County
1 stopColumbus — Business / Occupational License
Columbus has no general business or occupational license. Insurance agents/agencies are licensed as producers by the Ohio Department of Insurance (state level); no separate Columbus business license applies. Home-based agencies may still be subject to Home Occupation zoning provisions (§3332.37 et seq.) — confirm with Building and Zoning Services.
Official government sourceN/A — no general business license existsN/A
N/A — no general business license exists
N/A
Terminus
Open for business — est. $700–$3,500 · 6–10 weeks to complete education, pass exam, and receive license
Want this mapped to your exact business and structure, in filing order?
Official Sources
Related Guides
Other business types in Columbus, OH
- Auto Repair Shop Permit Requirements in Columbus, OH
- Barber Shop Permit Requirements in Columbus, OH
- Bookkeeping Permit Requirements in Columbus, OH
- Catering Business Permit Requirements in Columbus, OH
- Cleaning Service Permit Requirements in Columbus, OH
- Daycare / Child Care Center Permit Requirements in Columbus, OH
Insurance Agent in other cities
- Insurance Agent Permit Requirements in Aberdeen, SD
- Insurance Agent Permit Requirements in Albuquerque, NM
- Insurance Agent Permit Requirements in Anchorage, AK
- Insurance Agent Permit Requirements in Annapolis, MD
- Insurance Agent Permit Requirements in Atlanta, GA
- Insurance Agent Permit Requirements in Austin, TX