Tattoo Parlor Permit Requirements in Baton Rouge, LA
Complete permit and license guide for starting a tattoo parlor in Baton Rouge, East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana.
Not legal advice. Requirements may change — always verify with your local government authority before applying. Key agencies and fees on this page were re-checked against official government sources on .
Federal — start here
1 stopEIN (Employer Identification Number)
Required if you have employees or operate as an LLC or corporation. Free from the IRS.
Official government sourceFreeImmediate (online application)
Free
Immediate (online application)
State of Louisiana
2 stopsLouisiana Department of Revenue — Sales Tax Registration
Required for all businesses selling taxable goods or services in Louisiana. The Louisiana state sales tax rate is 5%. Sellers must apply for a sales tax certificate with the Louisiana Department of Revenue. Louisiana also has parish- and municipal-level sales taxes collected separately by local collectors, so the combined rate varies by parish and you must register with each applicable local collector in addition to the state.
Official government sourceNo registration fee is published by the Louisiana Department of Revenue.Not published by the Louisiana Department of Revenue; the '1-5 business days' figure has no official source.
No registration fee is published by the Louisiana Department of Revenue.
Not published by the Louisiana Department of Revenue; the '1-5 business days' figure has no official source.
Bloodborne Pathogen Training (per artist)
Tattoo artists working in Louisiana must complete bloodborne pathogen training as part of the sanitation requirements for commercial body art facilities, which the Louisiana Department of Health's Food and Drug Unit regulates statewide. LDH does not publish an approved-provider list or a renewal interval for this training online — confirm the accepted courses and renewal frequency with the Food and Drug Unit before relying on the annual-renewal assumption.
Official government sourceSet by the private training provider and not published by LDH; the $20–$80 figure is unverified. Get a quote from an accepted provider.Course length varies by provider and is not specified by LDH; the 'half-day course' figure is unverified.
Set by the private training provider and not published by LDH; the $20–$80 figure is unverified. Get a quote from an accepted provider.
Course length varies by provider and is not specified by LDH; the 'half-day course' figure is unverified.
City of Baton Rouge / East Baton Rouge Parish
2 stopsLouisiana Department of Health — Tattoo/Body Piercing Permit
Tattoo and body-piercing establishments in Louisiana are permitted by the Louisiana Department of Health's Food and Drug Unit (Bureau of Sanitarian Services), which regulates commercial body art facilities — tattooing, permanent makeup and body piercing — statewide. Permitting is centralized at the state unit, not handled through a local parish health unit. Artists must complete bloodborne pathogen training and the facility is inspected before the permit issues.
Official government sourceNot published. The $100–$250 figure is unverified — LDH does not publish a body art permit fee schedule online. Since July 1, 2025 a plans-review fee of $100 standard (10 business days) or $1,000 expedited (5 business days) applies to new facilities and substantial renovations. Confirm the permit fee with the Food and Drug Unit.Not published. Plans review is 10 business days standard or 5 business days expedited, followed by inspection; the '2–6 weeks' figure has no official source.
Not published. The $100–$250 figure is unverified — LDH does not publish a body art permit fee schedule online. Since July 1, 2025 a plans-review fee of $100 standard (10 business days) or $1,000 expedited (5 business days) applies to new facilities and substantial renovations. Confirm the permit fee with the Food and Drug Unit.
Not published. Plans review is 10 business days standard or 5 business days expedited, followed by inspection; the '2–6 weeks' figure has no official source.
City of Baton Rouge / Parish of East Baton Rouge Department of Finance — Business License
All businesses in East Baton Rouge Parish must obtain an Occupational License from the Finance Department's Revenue Collection Division (225-389-3084), renewed annually and posted at the place of business. Some businesses additionally need approval from Permits & Inspections and/or the health authority, and a zoning clearance or Certificate of Occupancy carries a separate fee. Certain categories are exempt by ordinance (for example manufacturers except on retail sales, and several enumerated professions).
Official government sourceA one-time registration fee of $50 if the business opens January 1–June 30 or $25 if it opens July 1–December 31. The annual tax is computed from gross receipts using the classification tables in the Occupational License Tax Ordinance and can exceed $500 for larger businesses — it is not a $50–$500 band.Apply at least one month before opening. A temporary certificate is mailed after processing; after 30 days of operation you report gross receipts and the permanent license issues. Renewals are due January 1 and delinquent after March 1 (5% penalty per 30 days to a 25% maximum, plus 15% annual interest).
A one-time registration fee of $50 if the business opens January 1–June 30 or $25 if it opens July 1–December 31. The annual tax is computed from gross receipts using the classification tables in the Occupational License Tax Ordinance and can exceed $500 for larger businesses — it is not a $50–$500 band.
Apply at least one month before opening. A temporary certificate is mailed after processing; after 30 days of operation you report gross receipts and the permanent license issues. Renewals are due January 1 and delinquent after March 1 (5% penalty per 30 days to a 25% maximum, plus 15% annual interest).
Terminus
Open for business — est. $300–$1,000 · 3–8 weeks
Want this mapped to your exact business and structure, in filing order?
Official Sources
Related Guides
Other business types in Baton Rouge, LA
- Auto Repair Shop Permit Requirements in Baton Rouge, LA
- Barber Shop Permit Requirements in Baton Rouge, LA
- Bookkeeping Permit Requirements in Baton Rouge, LA
- Catering Business Permit Requirements in Baton Rouge, LA
- Cleaning Service Permit Requirements in Baton Rouge, LA
- Daycare / Child Care Center Permit Requirements in Baton Rouge, LA