Home Daycare Permit Requirements in Miami, FL

Complete permit and license guide for starting a home daycare in Miami, Miami-Dade County, Florida.

Verified 2026-08-28 8 stops $300–$700 est. 8–16 weeks to complete training, background checks, inspections, and receive DCF license
Get my personalized route — $14.99

Not legal advice. Requirements may change — always verify with your local government authority before applying. Key agencies and fees on this page were re-checked against official government sources on .

Federal — start here

1 stop
  1. EIN (Employer Identification Number)

    Required if you have employees or operate as a corporation, partnership, or multi-member LLC; sole proprietors and single-member LLCs with no employees may use the owner's Social Security Number. Child care providers accepting School Readiness/CCDF subsidy payments must supply a taxpayer identification number — confirm with your local Early Learning Coalition whether an EIN is required. Free to obtain from the IRS.

    Official government source

    FreeImmediate (online application)

State of Florida

5 stops
  1. Florida DCF — Family Day Care Home License

    Required to operate a family day care home in Florida (an occupied residence regularly caring for children from at least two unrelated families for payment). Capacity depends on age mix, up to a maximum of 10 children (s. 402.302(8), F.S.). Homes must be licensed by the Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF) in counties that require licensing, and must register annually with DCF elsewhere (s. 402.313, F.S.). Requirements include a 30-clock-hour introductory child care course with competency exam before caring for children, Level 2 background screening for child care personnel and household members age 12 and older, and annual in-service training. Annual renewal required.

    Official government source

    License/registration fee not stated in statute — verify the current fee with the DCF child care licensing office8–16 weeks from application submission to license issuance

  2. Florida DCF — Large Family Child Care Home License

    Required to operate a large family child care home in Florida, which may serve a maximum of 8 children from birth to 24 months, or a maximum of 12 children when no more than 4 are under 24 months (s. 402.302(11), F.S.). Licensed by DCF. The home must first have operated as a licensed family day care home for 2 consecutive years, with an operator who has held a child development associate (CDA) credential or its equivalent for at least 1 year (s. 402.3131, F.S.). At least two full-time child care personnel must be on the premises during hours of operation, the operator must complete an approved 40-clock-hour introductory course in group child care, and all personnel and household members age 12+ require background screening.

    Official government source

    License fee not stated in statute — verify the current fee with the DCF child care licensing office8–16 weeks

  3. Background Screening (FDLE Level 2)

    Florida law requires Level 2 background screening (ch. 435, F.S., via the DCF Background Screening Clearinghouse) for child care personnel and for household members of family day care homes. Adults are fingerprinted for FDLE/FBI criminal history checks; household members aged 12-18 are checked against delinquency records without fingerprinting (s. 402.313(3), F.S.). Screening also covers sexual offender/predator registries and central abuse hotline records.

    Official government source

    Approximately $50–$100 per person; fees vary by Livescan fingerprint vendor (Clearinghouse screening component plus vendor fee)2–4 weeks

  4. Introductory Child Care Training (40 Hours for Facility Personnel)

    Florida requires all child care facility personnel to complete a DCF-approved 40-clock-hour introductory course in child care (s. 402.305(2)(d), F.S.), covering state regulations, health and safety, child abuse identification/reporting, and child development, with passing competency exams (65C-22.001(6), F.A.C.). Training must begin within 90 days of employment and be completed within one year. Family child care home operators instead complete a 30-clock-hour introductory course with a competency exam before caring for children (s. 402.313(4), F.S.).

    Official government source

    $50–$150Begin within 90 days of employment; complete within one year

  5. Pediatric CPR and First Aid Certification

    Florida child care facilities must have at least one staff person with current in-person CPR training present at all times that children are present, and minimum standards cover first aid treatment, emergency procedures, and pediatric CPR (s. 402.305(7), F.S.). Approved providers include the American Red Cross and American Heart Association. Many operators certify all caregivers as best practice, but the statutory minimum is one trained person on site at all times.

    Official government source

    $50–$100Same day (courses available locally and online)

City of Miami / Miami-Dade County

2 stops
  1. Miami-Dade County Zoning Compliance — Home-Based Child Care

    Under Florida law (§125.0109 and §166.0445), operating a DCF-registered or DCF-licensed family child care home is a valid residential use in any residentially zoned area of Miami-Dade County or the City of Miami. Local governments may not require a special exemption, special use permit, or waiver, and may not charge any special fee above $50 for such a home. Large family child care homes (a separate DCF license category) should confirm their DCF licensure; the county's child-care zoning page describes district standards for commercial child care facilities, which do not apply to in-home family child care.

    Official government source

    No special zoning permit may be required; any special fee is capped at $50 by Fla. Stat. §125.01091–4 weeks for zoning certificate

  2. Miami-Dade County Local Business Tax Receipt

    All businesses in Miami-Dade County — including home-based child care — must obtain a Local Business Tax Receipt (formerly Occupational License) from the Miami-Dade Tax Collector via BTExpress. Businesses inside City of Miami limits must obtain BOTH the City of Miami Business Tax Receipt and the county receipt.

    Official government source

    Varies by business category and number of employees/seats/units; confirm via the Miami-Dade Tax Collector's BTExpress portal or (305) 375-54481–2 weeks

Terminus

Open for business — est. $300–$700 · 8–16 weeks to complete training, background checks, inspections, and receive DCF license

Want this mapped to your exact business and structure, in filing order?

Get my personalized route — $14.99

Official Sources

Related Guides