Tattoo Parlor Permit Requirements in Shreveport, LA
Complete permit and license guide for starting a tattoo parlor in Shreveport, Caddo Parish, Louisiana.
Not legal advice. Requirements may change — always verify with your local government authority before applying. Key agencies and fees on this page were re-checked against official government sources on .
Federal — start here
1 stopEIN (Employer Identification Number)
Required if you have employees or operate as an LLC or corporation. Free from the IRS.
Official government sourceFreeImmediate (online application)
Free
Immediate (online application)
State of Louisiana
2 stopsLouisiana Department of Revenue — Sales Tax Registration
Required for all businesses selling taxable goods or services in Louisiana. The Louisiana state sales tax rate is 5%. Sellers must apply for a sales tax certificate with the Louisiana Department of Revenue. Louisiana also has parish- and municipal-level sales taxes collected separately by local collectors, so the combined rate varies by parish and you must register with each applicable local collector in addition to the state.
Official government sourceNo registration fee is published by the Louisiana Department of Revenue.Not published by the Louisiana Department of Revenue; the '1-5 business days' figure has no official source.
No registration fee is published by the Louisiana Department of Revenue.
Not published by the Louisiana Department of Revenue; the '1-5 business days' figure has no official source.
Bloodborne Pathogen Training (per artist)
Tattoo artists working in Louisiana must complete bloodborne pathogen training as part of the sanitation requirements for commercial body art facilities, which the Louisiana Department of Health's Food and Drug Unit regulates statewide. LDH does not publish an approved-provider list or a renewal interval for this training online — confirm the accepted courses and renewal frequency with the Food and Drug Unit before relying on the annual-renewal assumption.
Official government sourceSet by the private training provider and not published by LDH; the $20–$80 figure is unverified. Get a quote from an accepted provider.Course length varies by provider and is not specified by LDH; the 'half-day course' figure is unverified.
Set by the private training provider and not published by LDH; the $20–$80 figure is unverified. Get a quote from an accepted provider.
Course length varies by provider and is not specified by LDH; the 'half-day course' figure is unverified.
City of Shreveport / Caddo Parish
2 stopsLouisiana Department of Health — Tattoo/Body Piercing Permit
Tattoo and body-piercing establishments in Louisiana are permitted by the Louisiana Department of Health's Food and Drug Unit (Bureau of Sanitarian Services), which regulates commercial body art facilities — tattooing, permanent makeup and body piercing — statewide. Permitting is centralized at the state unit, not handled through a local parish health unit. Artists must complete bloodborne pathogen training and the facility is inspected before the permit issues.
Official government sourceNot published. The $100–$250 figure is unverified — LDH does not publish a body art permit fee schedule online. Since July 1, 2025 a plans-review fee of $100 standard (10 business days) or $1,000 expedited (5 business days) applies to new facilities and substantial renovations. Confirm the permit fee with the Food and Drug Unit.Not published. Plans review is 10 business days standard or 5 business days expedited, followed by inspection; the '2–6 weeks' figure has no official source.
Not published. The $100–$250 figure is unverified — LDH does not publish a body art permit fee schedule online. Since July 1, 2025 a plans-review fee of $100 standard (10 business days) or $1,000 expedited (5 business days) applies to new facilities and substantial renovations. Confirm the permit fee with the Food and Drug Unit.
Not published. Plans review is 10 business days standard or 5 business days expedited, followed by inspection; the '2–6 weeks' figure has no official source.
City of Shreveport Revenue Division — Occupational License
Shreveport requires an Occupational License for all businesses operating within city limits, administered by the Department of Finance (318-673-5500). A Certificate of Occupancy must be obtained first. The license must be renewed annually and displayed at your place of business.
Official government sourceVaries by business type: professionals pay 1/10 of 1% of gross receipts; retailers $50-$6,200/year; wholesalers $50-$7,500/year. A new business pays $50 if it opens in the first half of the calendar year, or $25 from July 1, pro-rated on projected gross sales.Not published. Shreveport issues a temporary license covering the first 30 days of business, after which you complete an update for the permanent license. Annual tax notices are mailed in December or January and are due before March 1.
Varies by business type: professionals pay 1/10 of 1% of gross receipts; retailers $50-$6,200/year; wholesalers $50-$7,500/year. A new business pays $50 if it opens in the first half of the calendar year, or $25 from July 1, pro-rated on projected gross sales.
Not published. Shreveport issues a temporary license covering the first 30 days of business, after which you complete an update for the permanent license. Annual tax notices are mailed in December or January and are due before March 1.
Terminus
Open for business — est. $300–$1,000 · 3–8 weeks
Want this mapped to your exact business and structure, in filing order?
Official Sources
Related Guides
Other business types in Shreveport, LA
- Auto Repair Shop Permit Requirements in Shreveport, LA
- Barber Shop Permit Requirements in Shreveport, LA
- Bookkeeping Permit Requirements in Shreveport, LA
- Catering Business Permit Requirements in Shreveport, LA
- Cleaning Service Permit Requirements in Shreveport, LA
- Daycare / Child Care Center Permit Requirements in Shreveport, LA