Home Daycare Permit Requirements in Orlando, FL

Complete permit and license guide for starting a home daycare in Orlando, Orange County, Florida.

Verified 2026-08-28 8 stops $300–$700 est. 8–16 weeks to complete training, background checks, inspections, and receive DCF license
Get my personalized route — $14.99

Not legal advice. Requirements may change — always verify with your local government authority before applying. Key agencies and fees on this page were re-checked against official government sources on .

Federal — start here

1 stop
  1. EIN (Employer Identification Number)

    Required if you have employees or operate as a corporation, partnership, or multi-member LLC; sole proprietors and single-member LLCs with no employees may use the owner's Social Security Number. Child care providers accepting School Readiness/CCDF subsidy payments must supply a taxpayer identification number — confirm with your local Early Learning Coalition whether an EIN is required. Free to obtain from the IRS.

    Official government source

    FreeImmediate (online application)

State of Florida

5 stops
  1. Florida DCF — Family Day Care Home License

    Required to operate a family day care home in Florida (an occupied residence regularly caring for children from at least two unrelated families for payment). Capacity depends on age mix, up to a maximum of 10 children (s. 402.302(8), F.S.). Homes must be licensed by the Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF) in counties that require licensing, and must register annually with DCF elsewhere (s. 402.313, F.S.). Requirements include a 30-clock-hour introductory child care course with competency exam before caring for children, Level 2 background screening for child care personnel and household members age 12 and older, and annual in-service training. Annual renewal required.

    Official government source

    License/registration fee not stated in statute — verify the current fee with the DCF child care licensing office8–16 weeks from application to license

  2. Florida DCF — Large Family Child Care Home License

    Required to operate a large family child care home in Florida, which may serve a maximum of 8 children from birth to 24 months, or a maximum of 12 children when no more than 4 are under 24 months (s. 402.302(11), F.S.). Licensed by DCF. The home must first have operated as a licensed family day care home for 2 consecutive years, with an operator who has held a child development associate (CDA) credential or its equivalent for at least 1 year (s. 402.3131, F.S.). At least two full-time child care personnel must be on the premises during hours of operation, the operator must complete an approved 40-clock-hour introductory course in group child care, and all personnel and household members age 12+ require background screening.

    Official government source

    License fee not stated in statute — verify the current fee with the DCF child care licensing office8–16 weeks

  3. Background Screening (FDLE Level 2)

    Required for all caregivers, household members age 12 and older, and anyone with unsupervised access to children. Adults are fingerprinted for FDLE/FBI criminal checks and screened against the FL Sexual Offender/Predator registry and central abuse hotline records; household members aged 12–18 are screened for delinquency records without fingerprinting.

    Official government source

    Approximately $50–$100 per person; fees vary by Livescan fingerprint vendor2–4 weeks

  4. Introductory Child Care Training (40 Hours for Facility Personnel)

    All child care facility personnel must complete a DCF-approved 40-clock-hour introductory course in child care (s. 402.305(2)(d), F.S.) with passing competency exams (65C-22.001(6), F.A.C.); training must begin within 90 days of employment and be completed within one year. Family child care home operators instead complete a 30-clock-hour introductory course with a competency exam before caring for children (s. 402.313(4), F.S.). Courses are available through DCF-approved online and in-person providers.

    Official government source

    $50–$150Begin within 90 days of employment; complete within one year

  5. Pediatric CPR and First Aid Certification

    At least one staff person with current in-person CPR training must be present at all times that children are present; minimum standards cover first aid, emergency procedures, and pediatric CPR (s. 402.305(7), F.S.).

    Official government source

    $50–$100Same day

City of Orlando / Orange County

2 stops
  1. Orange County Local Business Tax Receipt

    Home daycare providers in unincorporated Orange County obtain a Local Business Tax Receipt from the Orange County Tax Collector. Providers inside Orlando city limits need BOTH the City of Orlando Business Tax Receipt (via Permitting Services, obtained first) and the Orange County receipt. (Family child care homes are DCF-registered/licensed at the state level.)

    Official government source

    Varies by business classification; confirm with the Orange County Tax Collector, (407) 434-0312 (option 2)1–2 weeks

  2. City of Orlando Zoning Clearance (if in city limits)

    Under Florida law (§166.0445 and §125.0109), operating a DCF-registered or DCF-licensed family child care home is a valid residential use in any residential zone in Orlando. The city may not require a special exception, special use permit, or waiver, and may not charge any special fee over $50 for such a home. Confirm your DCF registration/licensure category; city zoning questions: Orlando City Planning, 407-246-2269.

    Official government source

    No special zoning permit may be required; any special fee is capped at $50 by Fla. Stat. §166.0445/§125.01092–8 weeks if zoning review required

Terminus

Open for business — est. $300–$700 · 8–16 weeks to complete training, background checks, inspections, and receive DCF license

Want this mapped to your exact business and structure, in filing order?

Get my personalized route — $14.99

Official Sources

Related Guides